“Parasite” Named Best Picture of 2019 by Seattle Film Critics Society

Posted on:

Seattle, WA – The Seattle Film Critics Society (“SFCS”) announced the winners in 20 categories for the 2019 Seattle Film Critics Society Awards on Monday, December 16, 2019.

Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite proved the big winner this year, landing five awards, including Best Picture of the Year. The South Korean film, which takes a multi-layered look at class and greed in modern-day society, also earned Bong the Best Director award and Best Screenplay, which he shares with co-writer Han Jin-won. Parasite was also named Best Foreign Language Film and the film’s ensemble was honored with the Best Ensemble Cast award.

“2019 was undoubtedly another meaningful year for cinema and, through it all, the film everyone continues to discuss, debate, and talk about is Parasite,” said Seattle Film Critics Society President Mike Ward. “As the movie industry finds itself facing something of a crossroads, in terms of how people see, view, and experience their movies, our slate of nominees and recipients shows that no matter where we look, the movies always find us. Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite is a shining example of a film that envelopes you, engrosses you, and doesn’t easily let you go.”

Uncut Gems, the pulse-pounding, frenetic action film from Josh & Benny Safdie, won two awards – Best Film Editing for Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie and Best Original Score for Daniel Lopatin’s innovative, synth-driven work.

Adam Driver was named Best Actor for his emotional turn in Marriage Story, portraying Charlie Barber, a husband steadying himself for a pending divorce.

The Best Actress prize went to Lupita Nyong’o, whose dual role as Adelaide and Red in Jordan Peele’s horror film, Us, pits one woman’s good and evil side against each other.

For Hustlers, Jennifer Lopez’s acclaimed performance as Ramona, an exotic dancer who orchestrates a scheme to bilk rich clients out of their money, earned her Best Supporting Actress honors. Willem Dafoe was named Best Supporting Actor for his work in The Lighthouse, playing Thomas, a man tasked with supervising and training a new lighthouse keeper in 19th century New England.

The SFCS recognized Ruth E. Carter for the second consecutive year in the Best Costume Design category. A winner last year for her work on Black Panther, Carter’s authentic designs for the 1970’s-era comedy Dolemite is My Name earned her recognition again this year.

In the new Action Choreography award, honoring the best in stunt ensemble performance, the SFCS named John Wick – Chapter 3: Parabellum as its inaugural recipient.

Thomasin McKenzie earned this year’s award for Best Youth Performance in Taika Waititi’s World War II satire, Jojo Rabbit.

Other winners include: Toy Story 4, which won Best Animated Feature; Apollo 11, which picked up the prize for Best Documentary Feature; 1917, earning the legendary Roger Deakins an award for Best Cinematography, Ad Astra for Best Visual Effects, and Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon a Time…In Hollywood, which picked up the Best Production Design award.

The Villain of the Year was awarded to “The Red Dress,” a common element throughout Peter Strickland’s horror/comedy In Fabric, which has a significant effect on all those who come into possession of it.

After formation in the fall of 2016, The Seattle Film Critics Society officially became a non-profit organization in 2017, with a membership now consisting of 26 film critics, representing print, broadcast, podcasting, and online film criticism. This year’s awards are the fourth held under the banner of the SFCS, honoring the best films and performances of the year.

The full list of recipients of the 2019 Seattle Film Critics Society Awards are as follows:



BEST DIRECTOR: Bong Joon-ho, Parasite

BEST ACTOR: Adam Driver, Marriage Story

BEST ACTRESS: Lupita Nyong’o, Us

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers


BEST SCREENPLAY: Parasite – Bong Joon-ho, Han Jin-won (screenplay); Bong Joon-ho (story)

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE: Toy Story 4 – Josh Cooley, director

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: Parasite – Bong Joon-ho, director

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE: Apollo 11 – Todd Douglas Miller, director

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: 1917 – Roger Deakins

BEST COSTUME DESIGN: Dolemite is My Name – Ruth E. Carter

BEST FILM EDITING: Uncut Gems – Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE: Uncut Gems – Daniel Lopatin

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN: Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood – Barbara Ling (Production Designer); Nancy Haigh (Set Decorator)

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS: Ad Astra – Allen Maris, Jedediah Smith, Guillaume Rocheron, Scott R.Fisher

BEST ACTION CHOREOGRAPHY: John Wick – Chapter 3: Parabellum

BEST YOUTH PERFORMANCE: Thomasin McKenzie, Jojo Rabbit

VILLAIN OF THE YEAR: The Red Dress – In Fabric – portrayed by a red dress.