Seattle Film Critics Society Awards: Timeline and Eligibility

We look forward to honoring the best films, actors, and filmmakers of the year. The timeline for our 2024 awards will be published later this spring.

Awards Timeline

For reference, the timeline for our 2023 cycle is listed below:

  • Pacific Northwest Film nominees announced: November 6 2023
  • Nominations ballots due: December 17 2023
  • Top films announced: December 19 2023
  • Final votes due: January 2 2024
  • Final nominees announced:  January 3 2024
  • All other awards announced: January 8 2024


  • Best Picture
  • Best Director
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role
  • Best Actress in a Leading Role
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role
  • Best Ensemble Cast
  • Best Action Choreography
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Animated Feature
  • Best Documentary Feature
  • Best International Film
    (Not in the English Language)
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Film Editing
  • Best Original Score
  • Best Production Design
  • Best Visual Effects
  • Best Youth Performance
    (18 years or younger upon start of filming)
  • Villain of the Year
  • Pacific Northwest Award


For eligibility purposes, a feature-length film is defined as any film with a running time in excess of 40 minutes.  

  1. Films must have received a regular (non-festival) theatrical run during the eligibility period (January 1 – December 31 2023) in:
    • (a) The greater Seattle area; or
    • (b) An Oscar-qualifying market (as specified in Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Rules and Eligibility section for the 96th Academy Awards) with:
      • (i) subsequent digital and/or VOD platform release, or
      • (ii) if screened for SFCS Members in a theater, via digital streaming link, or DVD/Blu-ray screener discs during the nomination period. Such screenings/screeners must be open to all members. 
  2. Films deemed eligible by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Animated Feature, Documentary Feature, and International Feature will also be eligible for awards consideration by the SFCS. 

Films may qualify for SFCS awards consideration in multiple years, but may only be nominated in one year (e.g., a film qualifying via Rule 2 in 2022 that was not nominated for awards may also qualify via Rule 1 in 2023).

The Pacific Northwest Award

The SFCS Board convenes a nominating committee for the Pacific Northwest Award. All traditionally eligible films are available for consideration, with a focus on those whose primary production was in the Pacific Northwest: specifically in Washington, Oregon, or Idaho (USA). 

Films may additionally qualify for this award via theatrical or streaming presentation at the Seattle International Film Festival, the Local Sightings Film Festival, or others deemed appropriate by the Board. 

The nominating committee will present a slate of PNW nominees to the full membership no later than one month prior to the SFCS general nomination deadline. The winner of the Pacific Northwest Award will be decided by a vote of the full SFCS membership.

For additional information and updates, see Pacific Northwest Award page.